Florizel Quartet

A London-based string quartet

Find Out More


Formed in late 2015 at the Royal Academy of Music, Florizel Quartet is made up of violinists Madeleine Pickering (UK) and Ryo Koyama (Japan), violist Lucas Levin (Australia) and cellist Yong Jun Lee (Korea/UK). Despite hailing from three different continents, the quartet has received praise for their cohesion and quality of sound. Recent performance highlights include a recital in Colstol Hall, Bristol, playing at a festival in Tuscany, Italy and a recital in China Exchange in Soho, London.

They are winners of the Wolfe Wolfinsohn String Quartet Prize at the Royal Academy of Music for their performance of Mozart's "Hoffmeister" Quartet and they have recieved tutelage from renowned coaches such as Levon Chilingirian (Chilingirian Quartet), Martin Outram (Maggini Quartet), Jon Thorne (Badke Quartet) and David Smith (Alberni Quartet), and were recently selected for the Frost ASSET scheme for chamber music at the Royal Academy of Music.

The quartet’s members have performed in over eight countries as orchestra members, section leaders, chamber musicians and soloists and are excited to be developing their sound and repertoire.

Have a listen

Upcoming performances

Halesworth Arts Festival

Cut Arts Centre, 8 New Cut, Halesworth IP19 8BY
More details TBC

Florizel plays Britten, Moeran and Beethoven at the Halesworth Arts Festival. More info tbc.

RAM Tuesday Series

DJ Recital Hall, Royal Academy of Music, Marylebone Road NW1 5HT London
More details

Florizel plays Britten, Bridge and Moeran as part of the Royal Academy of Music's prestigious Tuesday chamber music series.

Florizel in Bramley

Holy Trinity Church, Bramley High Street, Bramley, Guildford GU5 0DH
More details

Beethoven's second "Razumovsky" quartet crowns a programme also including Britten and Bridge at the Holy Trinity Church in Bramley.

Contact Us

We'd love to hear all your feedback and enquiries.